Skip to main content

Archived ARC Matters: Archived ARC Matters

April 2012

Photo of Charles Dickens from the U.S. National Archives

Table of Contents:

  • From the Library Director
  • Celebrating National Library Week
  • Dickens: The Last of the Great Men
  • Scholarly Communication and the Elsevier Boycott
  • Art in your Library- Gail Chavenelle
  • Fiscally Responsible Interlibrary Loan
  • What is Supplemental Instruction and how is it Benefitting Loras College?
  • Can You Read German?: A Genealogical Gem
  • Monitoring the Loras Library
  • Database of the Month
  • Pearls of Wisdom from Lora Librarian

October 2011

Kelsey updating ILL borrower records Table of Contents:

  • From the Library Director
  • Printing and the Mind of Man
  • Loras Library Index
  • A Snapshot of Dubuque
  • ALEKS in the Classroom
  • California Gold Rush
  • Honors Program Update
  • Library Student Workers
  • Job changes
  • Films on Demand
  • Loras’ Newest Librarian
  • Introducing Lora
  • Full-Text Finder

November 2010

Napoleon Bonaparte from BritannicaTable of Contents:

  • Reviewing the Library Collections
  • Distracted While Studying: Impairing A Student’s Ability to Learn
  • As it is Written…So Shall it be Done
  • Rare Book of the Day: The Code Napoleon
  • Friends of the Library Book Sale
  • New Database - ARTstor
  • Thursdays @ the Library

 

February 2009

Gilbert Keith ChestertonTable of Contents

  • Assignments Using the Library
  • G.K. Chesterton
  • Tidbits and Morsels from the Archives
  • How do we Compare? Taking a look at Loras alongside the other private academic libraries in the state
  • Paper Panic!
  • New Database- Access Newspaper Archive
  • Buildings Have History

October 2009

Going Green PinTable of Contents:

  • “NEW” Going Green with Thursdays at the Library!
  • New Library Databases
  • The Art in Surviving: The Federal Arts Project, the Federal Writers Project,
    and the Domestic Arts During the Great Depression
  • Digging Up Your Family Roots (Part 1)
  • Getting Help from a Librarian
  • Resume Corner

November 2008

The New York TimesTable of Contents:

  • The Library’s Special Collections
  • Dubuque Newspapers – what a past!
  • “Spark”: a Book that Got Me Moving (book review)
  • Tidbits and Morsels from the Archives
  • College Students and Their Study Habits
  • A New Database! New York Times Historical
  • New Faces at the Library
  • Headwaters Happenings…

September 2008

Orpheum Theater

Table of Contents:

  • Check This Out: The Changing Library
  • Library Hours and Patron Counts
  • From the Loras Archives…
  • Dubuque Area Photograph Collection
  • From the Lynch Office of Disability Services
  • Facts from the Library
  • Asking and Answering
  • The Changing Face of the Writing Center
  • Do I have a Choice (Reviews Online)?