This is an alphabetical list of the electronic periodical databases that the library provides.
Last Updated: Apr 9, 2013
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Large database of articles covering business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology, popular culture.
Contains more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources. JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.
- MasterFILE Premier
Full-text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covers virtually every subject area of general interest.
TOPICsearch contains full text for over 60,000 articles from 399 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
- Dubuque Telegraph-Herald
Daily newspaper from Dubuque, Iowa. Access via Access World News/Newsbank database. Articles from 1995 to the present.
- Access World News
Newspapers and other media outlets (radio and TV transcripts, wire services) from across the world.
- New York Times Historical (1851-2009)
The New York Times (1851-2009) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Coverage from Sept 18,1851-Dec 31, 2009.
- Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- The Gazette
Daily newspaper from the Cedar Rapids, Iowa City, Iowa area. Access via Access World News/Newsbank database. Articles from 1992 to the present.
- Wisconsin State Journal
Daily newspaper from Madison, Wisconsin. Access via Access World News/Newsbank database. Articles from 1989 to the present.
- McClatchy-Tribune Collection
The McClatchy-Tribune Collection includes a 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune Information Services. This database is updated daily.
- Access Newspaper Archive
Features billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world.
Click the Full-Text Finder link to find out if we have a particular journal or magazine. The list includes both print and electronic titles.
- EBSCO Databases
Choose from 20 EBSCO databases, covering a variety of fields.
An online service offering over 25 databases, some with full-text.
NOTE: This is a complete, alphabetical list of the library's periodical databases. If you're working on a specific topic and looking for a database recommendation, see Resources by Subject.
For an alphabetical list of all online resources, go to A-Z Online Resources.
- ACS Web Editions Search
Searchable full-text for 44 journals from the American Chemical Society.
- ASM Journals
Searchable journals from the American Society of Microbiology.
- ATLA Religion
Religious and theological articles. Now includes full-text of 55 core periodicals.
- Business Source Premier
Full-text journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting.
- Clase and Periodica
Offers access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 500 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 690 communication and media titles; plus this database includes full text for over 380 journals.
- Corporate ResourceNet
Corporate ResourceNet is designed to meet the diverse information needs of today’s companies. This database contains full text articles from nearly 1,200 quality magazines and journals.
- Criminal Justice (Proquest)
A comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
Journal articles and reports on education.
Well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
- Health Source: Academic and Consumer Editions
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
- Literature Resource Center (including the MLA Bibliography)
Literature criticism, biographies, work and topic overviews, reviews, scholarly articles, and full text of many literary works—all searchable at the same time and returned in lists organized according to the type of research needs they serve.
All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
- NCJRS Abstracts Database (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)
Papers presented at conferences worldwide.
- Primary Search
Full-text for over 50 children's magazines and 100 children's pamphlets, designed for the elementary school student.
Worldwide conference proceedings.
APA's resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations--the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
- Regional Business News
Full text coverage for regional business publications.
- Small Business Reference Center
The Small Business Reference Center gives provides up to date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books.
- SPORTDiscus with Full-Text
Sports and sports medicine.
- Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators
- Vocational and Career Collection
This collection provides full text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.